When you Purge your files from StackPath's CDN, your cached file(s) are removed from all StackPath Points of Presence(PoPs). Purging asks the CDN to obtain a fresh copy of the specified files before serving any more requests to end users.
Purging is particularly useful when files are updated on or removed from your Origin. Without the ability to purge, you are left waiting for StackPath to decide when updated files should be delivered to your users. Here are a few different methods you can use to fit your purging needs:
Purge Everything is the simplest way to handle file removal from CDN. This function removes all files on your Site from all PoPs globally. The operation takes less than a second for most Sites.
You should exercise caution before using this option if your Site has files that should stay cached. Once purged, there is no option to retrieve the removed data.
Purge by URL
Purge by URL is used to purge individual files from cache. This feature, as the name suggests, requires the URL of an exact file to be purged. Upon execution, the specified file is removed from all of our PoPs. You may list up to 30 individual URLs at a time.
Purge by Path
A Purge by path, also known as a recursive purge, can be issued to purge all content in a particular path or to purge all variations of a file using dynamic content caching. When performing a recursive purge, all files downstream of the submitted path are purged.
Note: The Purge Everything option is just a domain root recursive purge.
Purge Rate Limiting
To ensure operational efficiency for all customers, StackPath limits the number of purge requests to 100 URI’s per account every 60 seconds. Recursive purges count each request, not each file purged. If you have a need to raise your purge limit, please contact Support via firstname.lastname@example.org.
When a single request for a purge containing 50 URIs is sent, and then another request containing 50 different URIs gets sent 5 seconds later, both purge calls will execute successfully and will not be rate limited.
If any purge request is sent that would exceed your purge limit, none of the purges will be completed. E.g., You submit a request with 120 URIs, the first 100 will not be executed.
How long does it take to Purge
On most websites purging will appear instantaneous. The commands you issue are sent out globally in a few dozen milliseconds are queued to be removed and are removed when at the top of the purge queue. At best, this process takes less than a second. When our service is under high load, purging may take 1-2 minutes.
If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact our Support team through live chat after logging into https://control.stackpath.com.